Tournament and Event Information

1

April 6, 2013 by operationremie

This year, being the second annual tournament, I have decided to try and make things a little more fun than I did last year. Now I’m not saying they weren’t fun to begin with. All 70+ people that came had a lot of fun. I had a lot of fun. Fun fun fun. I just think it needs a dash bit more. So, to kick off April and get people excited about the event, here’s some information on the tournament itself.

I want to first begin by saying that there will no raffles this year. It’s the policy of the venue hall and I am not going to go against that. Instead, there will be door prizes. Instead of everyone buying tickets to use in the raffles, I’m going to increase the event price by $10. The $10 extra pretty much gets everyone a set number of tickets for the door prizes (probably around 30 tickets). Instead of putting them all in one big tote, everyone will get to put them in bags for what they want. Then, throughout the tournament, I’ll be pulling tickets out for each door prize. But I’m going to be doing it randomly so it’s better to put your tickets in before I start picking prizes. I’ll explain more at the tournament but I feel that this is the best thing to do.

Door prizes could be anything that I have available. Signed cards, alters, prints. I haven’t really figured out what I’ll be doing for it but don’t worry. There will be some pretty cool stuff for door prizes. And I will still be having silent auctions as well. So people will be able to bid on things and possibly win stuff. Sounds cool, eh? By the way, door prize tickets will be unavailable after the first round is over. I think it’s just fair since by then, we’ll be picking prizes for people.

Next, the main tournament will be STANDARD. Since the event will take place August 31st, that means the following sets will be legal:
*Innistrad
*Dark Ascension
*Avacyn Restored
*Magic 2013
*Return to Ravnica
*Gatecrash
*Dragon’s Maze
*Magic 2014
It’s very similar to last year’s event where every set that is legal in standard is legal at the event. I know Theroes comes out a few weeks later but this tournament should have the best of the best for decks. Really show who is the strongest in the format. The price of standard will be $35. I feel that the $35, which includes the door prize tickets, is a good price to play for the packs and playmats that I will be having. I don’t want to go higher than that. And again this year, I plan on having the top 8 get playmats. So far, if my adding is correct, I have about 13 playmats being sent to me. So 8 will be for this.

So what else did I want to do this year? I want to support the EDH/Commander players a bit more. For $20, whoever signs up for the EDH/Commander tournament will get the same amount of door prize tickets as the standard people. You guys are going to have your own tournament and I want you all to feel like you’re part of the event than just sitting around, not doing anything but playing casually. We’ll be following the banned card list for legal cards and legal commanders. This tournament will be really based on attendance. I’m still figuring out the details but the more people who participate, the more pods we’ll have. For example, if 16 people want to play, we’ll have 4 pods of 4 people. The winner of each pod will go into the winners bracket pod and play for the grand prize: a playmat. Each person in the winner’s pod will also receive a prize, which will be determined when I finally get some stuff. The more people, the more pods. Like I said, I’m still figuring this one out but I think it’ll be a lot of fun.

Lastly, what if you play both standard and EDH? What if you feel like you might not do so hot in standard but want to do the EDH tournament too? Well, for $40, you get entry into both but only get the one set of door prize tickets. The plan for the EDH tournament will be that it’ll take place after the 3rd round. So, if you’re 0-3 or 1-2 and don’t think you’ll do well, you can jump ship and head into EDH. But you have to choose this when you register. If you decide later, it’ll be $10 to join the EDH tournament and no door prize tickets.

I plan on also having side drafts going on as well. Information on this will come later once I figure that out with the people helping out.

We will also be having pizza and baked goods again this year! So we’ll be feeding you all!

So I hope that this helped whet your appetite for the event. August will be here before you know it! Later this week, I’ll be putting up the first of the donations that I got.

One thought on “Tournament and Event Information

  1. phrank says:

    Sounds great, can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

